Society for Molecular Biology and Evolution, Council and Business Meetings, 2015, Vienna Austria

James O. McInerney^{*,1} ¹University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom *Corresponding author: E-mail: james.mcinerney@manchester.ac.uk.



Council Meeting

1. Call to Order

President Joe Felsenstein called the council meeting to order at 9:20 AM, July 7, 2015. In attendance were President Joe Felsenstein, Past-president Brandon Gaut, President-Elect George Zhang, Secretary James McInerney, Treasurer Juliette de Meaux, Councilors Sandra Baldauf, David Liberles, Marta Wayne, Harmit Malik, Emma Teeling, Kateryna Marakova, *Molecular Biology and Evolution (MBE)* Editor-in-chief Sudhir Kumar, and *Genome Biology and Evolution (GBE)* Editor-in-Chief Bill Martin. In addition, Christian Schlötterer (SMBE Vienna 2015) and David Lambert (SMBE 2016 Gold Coast Australia), Claus Wilke (SMBE 2017, Austin, TX), Koichiro Tamura (SMBE 2018, Yokohama, Japan) as well as Claire Rawlinson and Alex Lucas from Oxford University Press and Chris Lapine from Allen Press and Cathy Kennedy attended part of the meeting.

2. Approval of Minutes

The Council approved the minutes of the 2014 Council and Business meeting prepared by the Secretary, published in the December 2014 issue of *MBE*.

3. Editors' Reports

The EICs of *MBE* and *GBE* gave reports on the current state of their journals (see separate editors' reports). They reported on a very healthy rate of submissions for both journals. OUP representatives reported that *MBE* is continuing to be a premier journal in evolution. *GBE* is now in the top 10% of all evolution journals. Altmetrics for papers are to be implemented soon.

4. Secretary's Report

A review of the council actions over the preceding year were summarized, and detailed below. The secretary confirmed the employment of Cathy Kennedy on a part-time (20%) basis to formalize the functions of council and to implement a program of maintaining institutional memory. Records will be maintained at the new website managed by Allen Press.

5. Treasurer's Report

SMBE Treasurer Juliette de Meaux presented the treasurers report. The society has almost \$3,000,000 on deposit. On the

issue of buying Certificates of Deposit—a vote was carried and the society has initiated a process of buying these secure deposit vehicles. More details can be found in the Treasurer's report.

6. Election of SMBE Officers

The nominations committee charged with nominating candidates for the position of President-elect, Treasurer, and two Council positions was chaired by Laurent Duret (Lyon, France). In addition to Dr Duret, the nominating committee consisted of Ana Caicedo, Ellen J. Pritham, Hideki Innan, and Yves Van de Peer. James McInerney, SMBE Secretary (NUI, Ireland) was an ex officio member of this committee as per society bylaws.

The nominees for the SMBE Ballot were:

President-elect: Siv Andersson (Uppsala University), Laura Landweber (Columbia) Councillors: Hiroshi Akashi (NIG, Japan), Adam Eyre-Walker (Sussex, UK), Matthew Hahn (Indiana), and Maud Tenaillon (CNRS, France).

SMBE members were issued with online ballot details on May 1, and the ballots closed on June 1. The results of the ballot are that President-elect is Laura Landweber, and the elected councilors are Maud Tenaillon and Adam Eyre-Walker.

7. Other Activities

i) Nominations for Future Satellite Meetings

A total of six proposals for funding for SMBE satellite meetings were received. Councillor Harmit Malik convened a committee of four people: Ellen J. Pritham (Utah, USA), Leonie Moyle (Indiana, USA), and David Pollock (Denver, USA). The committee reported back and in consultation with the council, a total of three satellite meetings were awarded funding. These are: "RNA modification and its implication on adaptation and evolution" Michael Gallach (Vienna, Austria). "Genetics and Evolution of Admixed populations" Amy Goldberg (Stanford, USA). "Genome Evolution in Pathogen Transmission and Disease" Jukka Corrander (Helsinki, Finland).

ii) Undergraduate mentoring and diversity program

Councilor Sandra Baldauf organized the undergraduate mentoring and diversity program at the annual meeting.

This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/), which permits non-commercial re-use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited. For commercial re-use, please contact journals.permissions@oup.com



299

A total of 37 applications were received from candidates in 12 countries. This program was able to make ten awards.

iii) Graduate/Postdoc student travel awards and Fitch Prizes

Past-President Brandon Gaut was involved in the selection of graduate students and postdocs who were to be given travel grants to attend SMBE. A total of 15 graduate student and 10 post doc awards were made. In addition, JJ Emerson (UC Irvine) and local organizer (Andrea Betancourt), with Brandon Gaut chose eight senior graduate student finalists from a total of 61 applicants for the Walter Fitch Prize Symposium. An award committee chaired by Joe Felsenstein awarded the 2015 Fitch Prize to Aline Muyle—Laboratoire de Biométrie et Biologie Evolutive, L'Université de Lyon.

iv) Christian Schlotterer (Vienna 2015) gave a presentation on the Vienna meeting, which at 1,441 registered participants was the largest annual meeting ever. David Lambert (Gold Coast 2016), Claus Wilke (Austin 2017), and Koichiro Tamura (Japan 2018) also gave informative presentations about the facilities and options for attendees of the next annual SMBE meetings. A call for meeting proposals for 2019 was also issued with President-Elect George Zhang chairing a committee to decide the venue for SMBE 2019.

Business Meeting

1. Call to Order

President Joe Felsenstein called to order the annual SMBE Business meeting at 1:45 PM on July 16.

2. Business

The president summarized the discussions at the council meetings, announced the location of the 2016, 2017, and 2018 meetings, announced the outcomes of the elections and the childcare awards and congratulated Christian Schlötterer and the other organizers of the Vienna meeting.