**Open Access** 

# **Computational Neuroscience (CNS\*2009)** Don H Johnson<sup>\*1</sup>, Ranu Jung<sup>\*2</sup> and Udo Ernst<sup>\*3</sup>

Address: 1Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rice University, Houston, Texas, 77005, USA, 2Center for Adaptive Neural Systems & School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering, PO Box 874404, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ 85287-4404, USA and <sup>3</sup>Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of Bremen, Hochschulring 18, PO Box 330 440, D-28334, Bremen, Germany

Email: Don H Johnson\* - cns@cnsorg.org; Ranu Jung\* - cns@cnsorg.org; Udo Ernst\* - cns@cnsorg.org \* Corresponding authors

from Eighteenth Annual Computational Neuroscience Meeting: CNS\*2009 Berlin, Germany. 18-23 July 2009

Published: 13 July 2009

BMC Neuroscience 2009, 10(Suppl 1):11 doi:10.1186/1471-2202-10-S1-11

This article is available from: http://www.biomedcentral.com/1471-2202/10/S1/II

© 2009 Johnson et al; licensee BioMed Central Ltd.

The international Computational Neuroscience meeting (CNS) has been a premier forum for presenting experimental and theoretical results exploring the biology of computation in the nervous system for the last eighteen years. The meeting is organized by the Organization for Computational Neurosciences, a US based non-profit organization governed by an international executive committee and board of directors. A separate program committee is responsible for the scientific program of the meeting. Participants at the meeting come from academia and industry. The meeting not only provides a venue for research presentation and discussion by senior scientists but actively offers a forum for promoting and supporting young scientists and students from around the world.

The papers in this supplement were presented at the 18<sup>th</sup> annual Computational Neuroscience Meeting (CNS\*2009) held in Berlin, Germany from Saturday July 18 to Thursday July 23, 2009. CNS\*2009 consisted of three days of oral and poster sessions at the main meeting, preceeded by a day of ten "Bernstein Tutorials", and followed by two days covering fifteen workshops and a Neuroinformatics symposium. A welcome reception, banquet cruise, and a Jazz party offered attendees informal forums for scientific and social exchange. The main meeting was held at the Hilton Berlin and workshops were held at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences. This year the meeting included several invited talks concerning neuroinformatics. These talks, highlighted by the "Frontiers in

Computational Neuroscience Lecture" given by Dr. Sten Grillner entitled Networks in motion - intrinsic function and control, illustrated how both massive computation and modern computer science can play roles in understanding how the brain computes. Abstracts for the meeting were submitted in early February. Those authors wanting an oral presentation also submitted an extended summary of their work. Abstracts were reviewed by the Program Committee and each extended summary was additionally reviewed and scored by three independent reviewers. In the end, 391 papers were accepted for the meeting, making this year's edition the largest. The review comments and scores for the extended summaries were used by the Program Committee to construct the final oral and poster programs.

In what follows, abstracts for invited talks are given first, followed by abstracts of oral presentations in order of presentation at the meeting and abstracts for posters. Abstracts for poster presentations are loosely grouped by topic according to keywords chosen by the authors in their initial submissions. These abstracts represent a sampling of some of the exciting work being done today, often by young researchers, in the field of Computational Neuroscience.

Partial support for CNS\*2009 was provided by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the National Network for Computational Neuroscience, Germany and Grant # R13NS066633-01 from the National Institutes of Neurological Disorders and Stroke and the National Institutes of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering, USA.

# **CNS\*2009 Program Committee**

Don Johnson, Chair (Rice University), Victoria Booth (University of Michigan), Hide Cateau (RIKEN), Markus Diesmann (RIKEN), Alex Dimitrov (Montana State University), Boris Gutkin (ENS), Jeanette Hellgren-Kotaleski (Karolinska Institute), Astrid Prinz (Emory University), Harel Shouval (University of Texas Medical Center), Volker Steuber (University of Hertfordshire), Susan Wearne (Mt. Sinai School of Medicine), Miriam Zacksenhouse (Technion)

### **CNS\*2009 Reviewers**

Kurt Ahrens, Athena Akrami, Peter Andras, Toru Aonishi, Amir Assadi, Francesco Battaglia, John Beggs, Jan Benda, Upinder Bhalla, Kim Avrama Blackwell, Alla Borisyuk, Amitabha Bose, Romain Brette, Vladimir Brezina, Carmen Canavier, Jeremy Caplan, Michela Chiappalone, Claudia Clopath, Albert Compte, Sharon Crook, Gennady Cymbalyuk, Peter Dayan, Paolo DelGiudice, Michael Denker, Ramana Dodla, Peter Erdi, Jean-Marc Fellous, Nicolas Fourcaud-Trocme, Erik Fransen, Matthieu Gilson, Bruce Graham, Lyle Graham, Sonja Gruen, Cengiz Gunay, Christian Hauptmann, J. Michael Herrmann, Mikael Huss, Hide Ikeno, Dieter Jaeger, Szabolcs Kali, Amir Karniel, Leslie Kay, Aurel A Lazar, Maciej Lazarewicz, Tim Lewis, John Lewis, Benjamin Lindner, Marja-Leena Linne, Christiane Linster, William Lytton, Mark McDonnell, Georgi Medvedev, Paul Miller, Samat Moldakarimov, Abigail Morrison, Tay Netoff, Hiroshi Okamoto, Eckehard Olbrich, Sorinel Oprisan, Pooya Pakarian, Michael (Mike) Paulin, Hans Ekkehard Plesser, Panayiota Poirazi, Bernd Porr, Patrick Roberts, Horacio Rotstein, Jonathan Rubin, Yukata Sakai, Ko Sakai, Emilio Salinas, Simon Schultz, Chang-Woo Shin, Asya Shpiro, Karen Sigvardt, Frances Skinner, Leslie Smith, David Sterratt, Aonan Tang, Natalia Toporikova, Benjamin Torben-Nielsen, Todd Troyer, Mark van Rossum, Alessandro Vato, Nada Yousif, Yuguo Yu.

#### **CNS\*2009** Local Organizer

Udo Ernst (University of Bremen), Andreas Herz (TU Munich), John-Dylan Haynes (Charite Berlin), Klaus Obermayer (TU Berlin)

# **CNS\*2009 Workshop Chair**

Dieter Jaeger (Emory University)

# CNS – Organization for Computational Neuroscience

Ranu Jung (Arizona State University), President

Dieter Jaeger (Emory University), Vice-President and Secretary

Klaus Obermayer (Technische Universität Berlin), Vice-President

Frances Skinner (Toronto Western Research Institute), Treasurer

Tim Lewis (University of California-Davis), Travel Grants

Kim Avrama Blackwell (George Mason University), Travel Grants

Jean Marc-Fellous (University of Arizona), Sponsorship

# **CNS Board of Directors**

Avrama Blackwell (George Mason Uuniversity), Ingo Bojak (Swinburne University), Frances Chance (University of California, Irvine), Sophie Deneve (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Collège de France), Erik Fransén (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden), Jean-Marc Fellous (University of Arizona), Leslie Kay (University of Chicago), Tim Lewis (University of California, Davis), Tay Netoff (University of Minnesota), Patrick Roberts (Oregon Health and Science University), Jonathan Rubin (University of Pittsburgh), Emilio Salinas (Wake Forest University), Emilio Salinas (Wake Forest University), Lars Schwabe (University of Rostock), Charles Wilson (University -f Texas-San Antonio).

For more information about the organization, please see <a href="http://www.cnsorg.org">http://www.cnsorg.org</a>

