

## **Statement of Retraction**

Statement of Retraction. The SNARE Protein SNAP23 and the SNARE-Interacting Protein Munc18c in Human Skeletal Muscle Are Implicated in Insulin Resistance/Type 2 Diabetes. Diabetes 2010;59:1870–1878. DOI: 10.2337/db09-1503. PMID: 20460426

Pontus Boström, Linda Andersson, Birgitte Vind, Liliana Håversen, Mikael Rutberg, Ylva Wickström, Erik Larsson, Per-Anders Jansson, Maria K. Svensson, Richard Brånemark, Charlotte Ling, Henning Beck-Nielsen, Jan Borén, Kurt Højlund, and Sven-Olof Olofsson

DOI: 10.2337/db17-rt05a

The following statement was submitted by Jan Borén of the University of Gothenburg (Gothenburg, Sweden) on behalf of the coauthors listed below and has been reviewed and approved for publication by the American Diabetes Association's Panel on Ethical Scientific Programs:

This study represents a major effort from several laboratories and considerable resources over several years. While we remain confident that the majority of the results presented are correct, we are concerned by ambiguities identified in this article in light of the fact that the first author, Pontus Almer Boström, who left the University of Gothenburg in 2009, has been found guilty of scientific misconduct by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gothenburg. Science must be credible. In this context, we would like to thank "Peer 1" from the PubPeer .com discussion for this article (https://pubpeer.com/publications/20460426) for detecting the ambiguities and bringing them to our attention.

We have no evidence of scientific misconduct in this study, but because the corresponding author, Sven-Olof Olofsson, sadly passed away in 2011 and none of the coauthors have continued working in this field, we are unable to repeat the experiments performed in the study to clarify the identified ambiguities. Furthermore, we have been unable to contact Pontus Almer Boström to discuss these ambiguities. Therefore, the coauthors listed below have decided that the most reasonable course of action is to retract the article.

Linda Andersson Ylva Wickström Richard Brånemark Kurt Højlund Birgitte Vind Erik Larsson Charlotte Ling Liliana Håversen Per-Anders Jansson Henning Beck-Nielsen Mikael Rutberg Maria K. Svensson Jan Borén